Who We Are And What We Do

The Eastern Cape Regional Training Center (ECRTC) is a project within the Faculty of Health Sciences at the Walter Sisulu University (WSU).

The Center was established in 2004 through a service agreement between the prime partner the Eastern Cape Department of Health (ECDOH) and Walter Sisulu University (WSU) to provide ongoing training to Health Care Workers (HCW) on: HIV, AIDS, sexually transmitted infections (STI) and tuberculosis (TB) to increase access to and improve the quality of HAST care and treatment.

Activities under the ECRTC include: Institutional and human capacity development to provide quality HIV, AIDS and related co-morbidities prevention; care and treatment; ongoing site mentoring; systems improvement support; and, technical assistance to the ECDOH with regard to HIV and AIDS intervention programs expansion.

ECRTC provides technical assistance to the ECDOH regarding the expansion of its HIV intervention programs, and supports hospital and clinic site readiness for accreditation to provide comprehensive HIV care and treatment.

The ECRTC has been mandated by ECDOH to coordinate all HIV related trainings in the Province through an overall EC Training plan which is inclusive of other PEPFAR training and the partners.

Our Clients

ECRTC works closely with Provincial Sub District and facility managers to identify training needs and select suitable health workers from health facilities throughout the Eastern Cape Province for training, mentoring, and technical support.

Our Operations

ECRTC operate at 3 sites which consist of a central management office at WSU Mthatha and three operational satellite training sites in Mthatha, East London and Port Elizabeth.

Each of the three sites established learning network in the area enabling clinical training and performance improvement providing a wide cover for the whole of the Eastern Cape Province.

Our Funders/Partners

The ECRTC is co-funded and supported by Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and the President’s Emergency Plan For AIDS Relief (PEPFAR) and the Eastern Cape Department of Health (ECDOH)